William B. Marx “Thorn in Side” Award

If you know someone who has been a “thorn in the side” to any government agency in an effort to promote reasonable, cost-effective regulations for industrial boilers, don’t delay in sending your nomination to CIBO, and telling us why this individual deserves to win this “prestigious” award.

Congratulations to
Scott Darling, Alcoa, Corp.
for winning the
2019 Thorn in the Side award


The Order of the Thorn

2018 Mark Bitto, ABB, Inc.

2017  Amy Marshall, AECOM

2016  Denis Oravec, AAI-JMP Engineering and Gail Bessette, CIBO

2015  Stephen Gossett, Eastman Chemical Company

2014  Robert Corbin, Honeywell Inc. (Retired)

2013  John (Jay) Hofmann, Trinity Consultants Inc.

2012  Vincent (Vince) Albanese, Sr. Fuel Tech, Inc.

2011  J.A. (Fred) Cleveland, Eastman Chemical Company

2010  Frederick P. Fendt, The Dow Chemical Company

2009  Robert Kaufmann, Koch Companies Public Sector, LLC

2009  Robert D. Bessette, CIBO, Thorn Among The Thorns,

2008  Carl R. Bozzuto, ALSTOM Power, Inc.

2007  Robin Mills Ridgway, Purdue University

2006  Norbert Wright, Anheuser Busch Company, Inc., Honorary Thorn

2006  Gary L. Merritt, Colver Power Project

2005  Ann McIver,     Citizens Thermal Energy

2004  Harvie D. Beavers, Colmac Clarion, Inc.

2003  John C. deRuyter, E.I. Dupont de Nemours & Company

2002  Richard Langford, Celanese

2000  Maxine D. Dewbury, The Procter & Gamble Company

1999  Mark E. Calmes, Archer Daniels Midland Company

1998  Jeffrey L. Shumaker, International Paper Company

1997  Bob Svendsen, Foster Wheeler

1996  Barry Garelick, Solar Turbines Inc.

1995  William B. Marx, CIBO